Six Feet Under(The Snow, That Is)

Hello, wintery world!

For those of you who don’t know me, I inhabit a part of the U.S.A. known as New England. We’re known for bad attitudes, good coffee, funny accents, and terrible weather patterns. Luckily, I avoid the first three on the list. However, the fourth one can be worked through with the proper attitude and equipment. I’m writing tonight to discuss some techniques for dealing with winter weather.

First off, prepare for the worst. In bad weather, power can go out, phone lines down, food sources scarce, clothes can be too thin..needless to say, it’s good to have things in good order. For the matter of power, and losing light, candles are always great. Scented ones may even improve your mood. Lavender has been said by a few people close to me to have a calming effect, and while I’m skeptical of aromatherapy as an industry, I’ve found that chamomile, lavender, and jasmine can be calming smells. Experiment with smells to find one that could ease your nerves in a stressful time, it’s always worth the effort.

As far as phones go, it’s great to have a cell phone with a charged battery. If bad weather looks like it will hit, charge up! Also, it is possible to obtain an extra battery, in case things get bad. You may need to call an emergency number, so don’t forget the value of the phone. It’s not just there for texting and reading the HSP blog on a mobile device. (hint hint!)

If you think you might have some food problems, it’s good to prepare or have some things on hand that you don’t mind eating cold. Salad stuff is great, but it can oxidize and get very gross very quickly. Bread tends to stay good for a few days, so long as the package is kept somewhat airtight, rice isn’t awful cold, and cereals are always a good way to go. Many other foods can be eaten cold..find what you like best and keep it around. Make sure you don’t necessarily have to refrigerate it.

As far as clothes go, be smart when you buy! That two-hundred dollar jacket that makes you feel nice because it’s popular may not actually be your warmest option. I find that military supplies are generally the best made, and cheapest options. Polypro brand undershirts are my favorite, and for the cost, they’re really wonderful. (Note: Polypro representatives..if you’re reading this, I’d love it if you sent me some free stuff for the free advertisement I just gave you. Haha, just kidding.) A good pair of boots has no substitute in the world. They’ll keep your feet warm AND dry, and that is a huge help in winter storms, as well as any time of year. I’ve found that to keep my core and legs warm, multiple layers is best. Warm pajama pants are cheap, and can be worn under other pants that you wear year-round. The materials should always be flexible, a bit loose(in case you have an emergency and need to run or climb, those skinny jeans will do you NO good), and COMFORTABLE. If your clothes don’t fit right, get ones that do. A good pair of work pants is usually cheap and efficient, and generally will last a few years, provided they’re made well. Don’t go too cheap or too expensive. Usually $20 will buy you a pair of pants that can last a year or two, maybe more.

I hope these tips prove useful to you throughout the season and seasons to come.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maureen mullaley
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 08:50:27

    Richard, everything you said was true in this blog and total common sence…at least to me…please need more help in the psychologigal aspect of winter peoples unwillingness to help one another or even the direct attempt to make thing harder…..I live alone and female…got stuck and several people passed me by yesterday while my arms flailing in the air for help….this saddened me so that we live in a world where stopping for a minute to help someone is unthinkable…..my mind cant comprehend that in anyway.

    Reply

  2. maureen mullaley
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 08:51:33

    Richard, everything you said was true in this blog and total common sence…at least to me…please need more help in the psychologigal aspect of winter peoples unwillingness to help one another or even the direct attempt to make thing harder…..I live alone and female…got stuck and several people passed me by yesterday while my arms flailing in the air for help….this saddened me so that we live in a world where stopping for a minute to help someone is unthinkable…..my mind cant comprehend that in anyway.I can handle the cold air not the cold hearts…

    Reply

  3. StinkyDiver69
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 21:12:58

    hahaha, I’m glad your spreading polypro love.

    Reply

Leave a comment